Reality | Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo

Life isn’t easy. We all know that. Life is nothing but a struggle. A struggle against walls built by nature and society. We are all average humans, and even if you get your teacher to tell you that you alone are someone special, then this might be the case but it doesn’t really change anything. What counts is how you are seen by the world, and if you haven’t done anything special then you are just one of the many other people.

Work hard, follow the rules and do everything as it’s asked from you is the path which leads you to success, happiness. This is the path which leads to a good future. But now imagine there is someone who is more skilled than you. Someone who is better in everything than you. No matter what you do but you can’t surpass the person. Even if he doesn’t “deserve” being better, even if you work harder than the person you still can’t surpass him. Isn’t that unfair ?

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo is dealing with such topics. Despite it’s long and strange name which barely shows anything what this show could be about, it is showing us topics we are dealing with in our life. It’s very relatable and does good job portraying these things. Now if I think about my own life, I feel like I used to be a very good person.

I want to say I played well with others in middle school-to say nothing of elementary school. I always was working hard for school, did my homework, and never annoyed my teachers.

And yet there was this guy who did nothing but still was better than me.

He, who spend his whole day playing computer games, was better than me even though I was working so hard. Have I failed ? Shouldn’t I just work even harder ? Sometimes, I just don’t know. But the answer is simple. It’s so simple that it hurts. Despite the fact that we might want a different answer it doesn’t change the fact that there is only this one simple answer to the question “Why is the person better than me ?”.

That’s just how it is.

There will be always someone who is better than you. No matter what you do. While this might not be always true, you do get certain traits from the moment you are born. Be it the skills you have, the family, and so on there are many things which you just have to accept happening. You can shape your life to a certain extent but even this is limited. Limited to something possible. You can’t make the impossible possible after all. This is not a manga where the underdog is surpassing everyone. This is the harsh reality.

In Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo, we have the characters who are trying their best to achieve something. But even here we see the reality, that sometimes it doesn’t matter how hard you work. There will be always someone who is better than you. You might work hard to create something. You write a novel or paint something incredible. But yet you know deep down that this is definitely not the best creation as there is something which is better. And that’s how it should be like. The characters in Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo are showing us how many emotions we can have when something is “unfair”. We are being jealous of each other and even start hating the person. Jealousy is kind of scary. The hatred which you feel during this moment is something which is truly sad and depressing. But yet the characters overcome these emotions.

Not completely since that might not be possible after all but they accept it. And accepting this fact is good.

Very good. In fact the sooner you accept the fact, that there will be always someone who is better than you, the better it is. The world isn’t going to change. No matter how you feel the world will stay the way it is.

So what’s the point in being jealous ? You are who you are and you must continue on. Life isn’t easy and there will be happy and sad moments. A life full with different experiences is ahead of you and what you should try to do is to strive for your own happiness.

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo is really an anime which showed me this. I love how an anime which first seemed like a simple ecchi anime could deal with such topics and unlike many other shows where we don’t get the answer this anime doesn’t hesitate to show us what we have to do. I guess there is a reason why I can’t forget this anime even though I watched it 3 years ago. The characters who failed don’t suddenly turn into someone lucky and get happiness. It’s not that simple. All we get is the harsh reality.

3 thoughts on “Reality | Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo

  1. I liked that this anime dealt at many times with the reality of failure despite hard work. Unfortunately it couldn’t stick with that theme and kind of tried to have it both ways with doses of reality and then happy conclusion. Still, there are some very emotional moments when you see the main character confront his own short comings (or struggle to do so).

    Like

    1. Indeed, I think the anime could have done a better job at focusing on certain topics, but I feel like it tried to be everything at the same time, if you get what I mean. But like you said, this anime had some really emotional moments which really affected me back then because I was able to relate to it.

      Btw. I really appreciate your comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem. I don’t have many people in real life to talk anime with so I love interacting with fans online. I’ve met some great bloggers and really enjoy it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

